Young BSM

Young BSM is a proactive group assembled as a branch under the BSM umbrella and
dedicated to transforming the advancement of microbiology into public. It will be carried
out by early career researchers whose principle is a science to all (S2A). For this,
scientific outreach as the main duty will be organized (in different phases) and devoted
to specific and trendy microbiological subjects. In which, YBSM serves the three
microbiological sections: general microbiology, applied and environmental microbiology,
and host-microbe interaction.

To foster the development of the early career researchers, BSM board of directors agree
to initiate its YBSM group to command the outreach activities. YBSM will be managed
by its own board (16 members representing equality in genders and in different Belgian
entities) mimicking the BSM main board of directors. Both boards have a delegate from
one another. YBSM board will be assembled as a result of voluntary applications handed
by these substitutes. Once assembled, this YBSM board will have a privilege of, at least,
four meetings a year to discuss and brainstorm the plans for the next outreach.
Thereafter, YBSM will launch a single activity in the first year (2021/22) as a first phase.
Then, further establishments of new scientific outreaches will be addressed at national
and international levels. Contact us for more information.


Amir Hassan

Protein Research Unit (PRU), lab of Microbiology (LM-UGent), Department of Biochemistry and Microbiology, UGent

Renske van Raaphorst

Bacterial cell biology, De Duve Institute, UCLouvain

Sarah Ahannach

Lab of Applied Microbiology and Biotechnology, Bioscience Engineering Department, UAntwerp

Liselot Dewachter

Jan Michiels lab, Center for Microbiology, VIB – Centre of Microbial and Plant Genetics, KU Leuven

Hans Carolus

Laboratory of molecular cell biology, Department of biology, Faculty of science, KU Leuven

Tom Eilers

Environmental Ecology and Applied Microbiology (ENDEMIC), UAntwerp

Emmelie De Ridder

Laboratory of Microbiology (LM-UGent), Department of Biochemistry and Microbiology, UGent

Cristina García Timermans 

Center for Microbial Ecology and Technology (CMET), UGent

Charlotte van de Velde

Department of Microbiology, Immunology and Transplantation, Rega Institute, KU Leuven

Shamal Withanage 

Pinheiro Lab, Medicinal Chemistry (Rega Instituut), KU Leuven