Board of Directors

Raad van Bestuur – Conseil d’Administration


President : Prof. Dr. ir. Eveline Peeters, Microbiology Lab, Vrije Universiteit Brussels (VUB) [from 2018 to 2026]. Member of NaCoMi.


Vice-President : Prof. Dr. ir Nico Boon, Center for Microbial Ecology and Technology (CMET), Universiteit Gent (UGent) [from 2016 to 2024]. Member of NaCoMi.


Secretary : Prof. Dr. Xavier De Bolle, Research Unit in Biology of Microorganisms (URBM), Université de Namur (UNamur) [from 2016 to 2024]. Member of NaCoMi.


Treasurer : Prof. Dr. Xavier Saelens, VIB-UGent Center for Medical Biotechnology (UGent) [from 2016 to 2024].


FEMS delegate : Prof. Dr. Jan Michiels, Centre of Microbial and Plant Genetics, KU Leuven, Leuven [from 2019 to 2025].



Webmaster/Communication : Dr. Sébastien Rigali, Maître de Recherche FNRS, Streptomyces Genetics and Development, InBioS- CIP, Liège University [from 2019 to 2025].


Prof. Dr. Paul Cos, Laboratory of Microbiology, Parasitology and Hygiene (LMPH), Universiteit Antwerpen (UA) [from 2012 to 2020].


Prof. Dr. Dominique Schols, Laboratory of Virology and Chemotherapy, Rega Institute, Leuven University (KU Leuven) [from 2012 to 2020].



Prof. Dr. Laurence Van Melderen, Bacterial Genetics and Physiology, Université Libre de Bruxelles (ULB) [from 2018 to 2026].


Prof. Dr. Sarah Lebeer, Microbiology & Biotechnology, Universiteit Antwerpen (UAntwerpen) [from 2018 to 2026].


Prof. Dr. Françoise Van Bambeke, Directrice de Recherche FNRS, Faculté de pharmacie et des sciences biomédicales, Louvain Drug Research Institute, UC Louvain, Woluwe) [from 2019 to 2025].


Prof. Dr. Frank Delvigne, Gembloux Agro-Bio Tech, Liège University [from 2019 to 2025].


Prof. Dr. Pascal Hols, Maître de Recherches FNRS, Louvain Institute of Biomolecular Science and Technology (IBST), UC Louvain, Louvain-la-Neuve [from 2019 to 2025].


Dr. ir. Rob Van Houdt, Microbiology Unit, Interdisciplinary Biosciences, Belgian Nuclear Research Centre (SCK•CEN) [from 2019 to 2025].